常见问题

喜欢的食物是什么?

我们提供三个营养孩子友好饭菜一天. 我们晚餐菜单功能比萨饼, 意大利面, 汉堡, 使你自己的墨西哥卷饼酒吧. 早餐包括自制饼干, 煎饼, 鸡蛋, 和谷物. 午餐由组成的三明治, 水果, 和胡萝卜. 总是有素食选择可用,我们的工作人员有现成的小径混合, 水果, 胡萝卜, 和椒盐脆饼的小吃全天. 我们令人难以置信的厨师都一直在致力于过敏和特殊膳食需要以及烘烤新鲜面包和饼干.

睡眠安排是什么?

我们的房子 5-10 孩子们在每个单一性别的小屋. 我们还提供性别中立的小屋时要求. 您可以注意您的偏好时, 注册您的孩子为户外项目. 我们故意混合来自不同学校的儿童,但我们尽全力确保每个房间有至少两名来自同一学校社区学生. 所有的船舱内有充分的电力和功能双层床.

你有什么类型的医疗支持?

我们对于要求我们有当地的医生 24 一天一小时. 马赛克项目已在急救和心肺复苏术训练的工作人员. 一些持有先进的认证, 如野外第一应答.

离最近的医院有多远?

最近的医院是在圣克鲁斯 20 分钟远离我们的户外项目网站.

游泳池里有认证的救生员吗??

是的, 马赛克项目目前有四认证的救生员在我们的 year-round 团队谁参加户外项目. 另外, 我们为季节性户外项目的主持人和高级青年领袖提供机会参加救生员培训, 在本赛季获得认证和帮助. 所有在学生游泳时在场的员工都被指示要专心, 并作为 “观察” 当孩子们游泳.

儿童如何受监督? 什么是成人/学生比例?

学生的生理和心理的安全和福祉是我们主要关注. 学生监督 24 一天一小时. 小木屋领导人每晚睡在小屋里. 我们的工作人员和学生的比例大约是 1 自 6.

谁是您的员工? 您的员工如何筛选?

工作人员调解人: 我们自豪我们的工作人员的多样性. 我们的工作人员引导师是一般之间 24 和 50 年岁. 他们有丰富的经验,在户外设置以及多样性和冲突解决培训中的孩子们在一起. 我们提供工作人员长达一周强化训练,并不断从事专业发展. 所有工作人员都经历了严格筛选包括手指印刷的过程/背景检查, 至少三个专业参考咨询, 和三个小时的采访中与执行主任.

青年领袖: 我们的青年领导人之间的年龄是 15 和 23 来自十几个湾区高中和大学. 他们接受自己的密集, 周末长 (2-一天, 2-晚上), 发生在户外学校网站在纳帕的领导力培训. 竞争的应用程序进程包括散文, 引用和个人访谈与我们青年领导项目主任.

我能给我的孩子打电话吗?

除了在最不寻常的情况下, 学生不允许与他们的父母通过电话谈原因如下:

  • 我们发现, 这些谈话经常增加乡愁和延迟孩子的调整到室外项目. 另外, 如果一个学生会谈到家人和词传播开来,他/她这样做, 思乡之情可以在整个社区传播.
  • 我们让学生在节目中很忙. 我们不想要摆脱他们的活动和团体来电话.
  • 不是所有的学生都可以打个电话回家, 由于这一事实, 有有限的座机可供使用, 个人手机是不允许的, 它是重要的学生要有公平的经验.
  • 我们必须优先保持电话线为紧急呼叫打开.
我的孩子会做哪些教育活动?

你可以阅读所有关于,我们的课程. 我们正不断改善我们的活动, 和每个教育工作者和我们有共事其演变作出了贡献,因为我们在我们第一次焦点团体举行 2001. 除了我们教师智慧理事会, 我们建议由心理学家观察我们的节目我们董事会和咨询委员会.

你是如何处理思乡之情的?

想家, 家庭, 甚至宠物, 是很自然的孩子, 尤其是当它是他们第一次离开家. 大多数学生在户外项目中经历一个短暂的调整期. 很快, 他们会陷入兴奋的新朋友, 活动, 和冒险. 我们的工作人员都是支持学生,为他们适应生活在马赛克项目专家. 经常帮助学生克服一轮的思乡之情的秘密成分是备他们的父母. 看看最小化的乡愁小贴士.

你如何处理纪律问题?

积极的纪律是固有的我们的理念. 如果我们不能支持一个孩子在马赛克项目具有成功的经验, 我们会通知家长或监护人, 并可能要求从户外项目的孩子被拾起. 说, 在已有十年服务成千上万的儿童, 我们很少不得不送学生回家. 通常情况下, 可能挣扎在家里或学校里的孩子擅长于马赛克项目.

我的孩子应该带什么 (而不是带来) 到马赛克项目?

我们总是希望在费尔顿有温暖的天气。, 然而天气可以是相当易变的. 晚上可能会很酷. 学生应为一切准备, 包括雨! 服装,是舒适和功能的重要. 请密切关注我们的装箱单. 孩子们会把自己的行李搬; 请把所有的东西打包一个行李箱或行李袋中 (睡袋可以分别进行). 最重要的是, 一定要标签一切包括一次性相机. 看到我们带什么的详细的列表.

FAQ

What is the food like?

We serve three nutritious kid-friendly meals a day. Our dinner menu features pizza, spaghetti, burgers, and a make-your-own burrito bar. Breakfasts include homemade biscuits, pancakes, eggs, and cereal. Lunches consist of sandwiches, fruit, and carrots. There are always vegetarian options available and our staff has a ready supply of trail mix, fruit, carrots, and pretzels for snacks throughout the day. Our incredible chefs are committed to accommodating allergies and special dietary needs as well as baking fresh bread and cookies.

What are the sleeping arrangements?

We house 5-10 kids in each single-gender cabin. We also offer a gender neutral cabin when requested. You can note your preference when registering your child for the Outdoor Project. We intentionally mix children from different schools but do our best to ensure that each cabin has at least two students from the same school community. All cabins have full electricity and feature bunk-beds.

What type of medical support do you have?

We have local doctors on call for us 24 hours a day. The Mosaic Project has staff who are trained in First Aid and CPR. Some hold advanced certifications such as Wilderness First Responder.

How far away is the nearest hospital?

The nearest hospital is in Santa Cruz which is 20 minutes away from our Outdoor Project site.

Is there a certified lifeguard at the swimming pool?

Yes, The Mosaic Project currently has four certified lifeguards on our year-round team who attend the Outdoor Project. In addition, we offer seasonal Outdoor Project Facilitators and senior Youth Leaders the opportunity to attend lifeguard training to get certified and help during the season. All staff that are present while students are swimming are instructed to be attentive and serve as “watchers” as children swim.

How are children supervised? What is the adult/student ratio?

The students’ physical and emotional safety and well-being are our primary concerns. Students are supervised 24 hours a day. Cabin Leaders sleep in the cabins every night. Our staff to student ratio is approximately 1 to 6.

Who are your staff? How are your staff screened?

Staff Facilitators: We pride ourselves on the diversity of our staff. Our staff facilitators are generally between 24 and 50 years old. They have extensive experience working with children in outdoor settings as well as in diversity and conflict resolution training. We provide an intensive week-long staff training and are constantly engaged in professional development. All staff members have undergone a rigorous screening process/background check that includes finger printing, consultation with at least three professional references, and a three-hour interview with the Executive Director.

Youth Leaders: Our Youth Leaders are between the ages of 15 and 23 and hail from more than a dozen Bay Area high schools and colleges. They undergo their own intensive, weekend-long (2-day, 2-night), leadership training that takes place in Napa at the Outdoor School site. The competitive application process includes essays, references and a personal interview with our Youth Leadership Project Director.

Can I call my child?

Except under the most unusual circumstances, students are not permitted to talk with their parents over the telephone for the following reasons:

  • We find that these conversations often increase homesickness and delay children’s adjustment to the Outdoor Project. Additionally, if one student talks to his/her family and the word spreads that s/he has done so, homesickness can spread throughout the community.
  • We keep the students very busy during the program. We do not want to have to pull them away from their activities and groups to come to the phone.
  • There is no way that all students could make a call home, due to the fact there are limited landlines available and use of personal cell phones is not allowed, and it is important for the students to have an equitable experience.
  • We must prioritized keeping phone lines open for urgent calls.
What educational activities will my child do?

You can read all about our curriculum here. We are constantly refining our activities, and every educator with whom we have worked has contributed to its evolution since we held our first focus groups in 2001. In addition to our Teachers Wisdom Council, we are advised by psychologists on our Board of Directors and Advisory Board who observe our programs.

How do you deal with homesickness?

Missing home, family, and even pets, is natural for children, especially when it is their first time away from home. Most students experience a short adjustment period to the Outdoor Project. Soon, they get caught up in the excitement of new friends, activities, and adventures. Our staff are experts in supporting students as they adjust to life at The Mosaic Project. Often the secret ingredient in helping students to overcome a bout of homesickness is preparation by their parents. Check out the minimizing homesickness tips.

How do you deal with discipline issues?

Positive discipline is intrinsic to our philosophy. If we are unable to support a child in having a successful experience at The Mosaic Project, we will notify the parents or guardian and may require that the child is picked up from the Outdoor Project. That said, in over a decade of serving thousands of children, we have very rarely had to send students home. Oftentimes, children who may struggle at home or in school excel at The Mosaic Project.

What should my child bring (and NOT bring) to The Mosaic Project?

We always hope to have warm weather in Felton, however the weather can be quite variable. Evenings may be very cool. Students should be prepared for everything, including rain! Clothing that is comfortable and functional is important. Please follow our packing list closely. Children will carry their own luggage; please pack everything in only ONE suitcase or duffel bag (sleeping bag can be carried separately). Most importantly, be sure to LABEL EVERYTHING including disposable cameras. See our detailed list of what to bring.