为什么马赛克

需要

超过半个世纪后布朗诉. 教育董事会宣布在公共教育隔离违宪, 学校和社区在美国是只是种族隔离,因为他们曾经. 我们的孩子成长几乎没有接触到那些不同于自己的无知所导致, 恐惧, 偏见, 暴力, 和更多的隔离. 马赛克项目打破这种循环达到青年前围差异的消极态度变得根深蒂固,使他们能够住在一起, 从学习, 和亲近别人互动者会不正常.

作为新闻的大量充斥的最近事件十分明确, 改变一生工作的马赛克的需要是项目的紧迫和深刻.

 

马赛克项目 ’ s 创新方法是唯一因为:

 

  • 我们处理的维持不平等的更大的系统范围内的社会情感问题 (如隔离, 偏见, 和歧视) 同时为与会者提供深刻, 个人经验.
  • 我们主要的程序, 户外工程, 是小学儿童. 其他身临其境多样性教育程序工作与高中和大学学生或成人. 研究普遍同意,孩子们开始表现出偏见之间 2 和 8 其中,以防止偏见以加强早期干预的紧迫性的老几年举行. 我们在底片态度前后差别变得根深蒂固之前达到年轻人. 我们帮助他们培养自信和工具成功,因为他们遇到更多的人和更多的多样性,在这新的环境中和在他们的一生.
  • 我们的户外项目将儿童从教室环境移到中性, 身临其境的设置 他们被有意地和不同背景的学生分组 在为期一周的"大师班",在社会情感学习. 体验课程授权所有学生在多样性中吸收经验教训, 尊重, 听, 同理心, 自信的沟通, 和解决冲突. 其他社会情感学习程序均以课堂教学的基础,因为许多教室被隔离, 这些程序不启用学生解决问题的不同设置的差异. 其他的教育项目的性质主要集中在环境科学, 而不是社会情感学习.
  • 我们的合同是与从明显不同社区的学校, 因此,我们有广泛的延伸. 多样性集中夏令营达到只有已经理解问题的家庭.
  • 我们故意不同的工作人员也使我们与众不同. 我们的工作人员和合作伙伴的老师常说我们的工作人员是最多样化他们遇到过. 这允许参与者体验强大的团队,从各种不同的背景,所以他们可以看到自己在这些领导人,也受到非常不同于自己的榜样.

Why Mosaic

The Need

More than half a century after Brown v. the Board of Education declared segregation in public education unconstitutional, schools and communities in the United States are just as segregated as they ever were. Our children are growing up with little to no exposure to those different from themselves which leads to ignorance, fear, prejudice, violence, and more segregation. The Mosaic Project breaks this cycle by reaching youth before negative attitudes surrounding differences become entrenched and enabling them to live with, learn from, and befriend others with whom they would not normally interact.

As recent events flooding the news have made abundantly clear, the need for the life-changing work of The Mosaic Project is pressing and profound.

 

The Mosaic Project’s innovative approach is unique because:

 

  • We address social-emotional issues within the context of larger systems that perpetuate inequality (such as segregation, prejudice, and discrimination) while providing participants with a profound, personal experience.
  • Our primary program, the Outdoor Project, is for elementary school children. Other immersive diversity education programs work with high school and college students or adults. Studies widely agree that children begin to exhibit prejudice between 2 and 8 years old which reinforces the urgency of early intervention in order to prevent prejudice from taking hold. We reach young people before negatives attitudes around difference become entrenched. We assist them in developing the self-confidence and tools to succeed as they encounter more people and more diversity in this new environment and throughout their lives.
  • Our Outdoor Project moves children from the classroom environment to a neutral, immersive setting where they are intentionally grouped with students from different backgrounds in a weeklong “master class” in social emotional learning. The experiential curriculum empowers all students to internalize the lessons in diversity, respect, listening, empathy, assertive communication, and conflict resolution. Other social emotional learning programs are classroom based and since many classrooms are segregated, these programs do not enable students to address issues of difference in a diverse setting. Other educational programs set in nature focus primarily on environmental science rather than social emotional learning.
  • Our contracts are with schools from markedly different communities, thus we have a broad reach. Diversity-focused summer camps reach only families that already understand the issues being addressed.
  • Our intentionally diverse staff also sets us apart. Our staff and partner teachers often remark that our staff is the most diverse they have ever encountered. This allows participants to experience a powerful team from various backgrounds so they can see themselves in these leaders and also be inspired by role models very different from themselves.