致我们社区的信

Jul 8, 2020

为什么了解系统性种族主义是不够的

我们处于清算的时刻. 除了大流行, 我们也正在经历一场疼痛, 意识, 和围绕系统性种族主义的激进主义, 由于最近谋杀阿赫莫 · 阿伯里, 布雷翁娜·泰勒, 托尼·麦克达德, 和乔治·弗洛伊德. 我们申明并将不断申明, 黑色生活物质.

正是在这一背景下,我们强调了马赛克工作的紧迫性和长期重要性. 这样做, 我们推荐您到我们的 需要说明暴力与和平金字塔 这掩盖了我们所做的一切. 你会看到,在这些自我延续的金字塔的基础是隔离和连接. 隔离是系统性种族主义和暴力的根源, 和连接是解决方案的根源.

教育自己了解系统性种族主义很重要,这还不够. 当我们实际上不认识和我们不同背景的人时, 我们被抛在了依靠, 无论是有意还是无意识, 在我们周围的成见. 这些成见使我们能够使他人失去人性,并阻碍我们同情他人的能力.

正如没有学习读写的孩子应该从小学毕业一样, 没有不同背景的朋友, 或者没有理解成见是如何工作的, 以及如何真正看到别人, 任何孩子都应该毕业. 只有当我们可以连接, 尊重, 和同情差异, 我们能走向正义与和平吗?.

我们目睹了无数来自同质学校的学生, 他们可以背诵所有的核心社会正义信条 — — 然而, 当他们到达我们的户外项目,并第一次与不同的学生组共享一个小屋, 他们努力将这些教训付诸实践. 只有在与其他学生建立密切的人际关系和我们多元化员工的耐心指导之后,他们才最终能够体现课程.

分隔我们的系统功能强大. 如果只是它像, "让我们走到一起, 彼此好。如果我们真的要走到一起做出改变, 我们必须非常周到和有意. 作为 研究 显示, 为了走到一起,克服偏见, 我们必须致力于共同目标, 解决歧视问题, 并学习真实互动和自信解决冲突的技能. 我们必须拆除暴力金字塔,建立和平金字塔.

阅读和讨论和平与正义是不够的 —— 我们必须让他们生活. 马赛克项目种子社会与成千上万的学生谁经历了建立一个多样化的, 公平, 和包容性社区,并受到启发,在其一生中创建这样的社区.

在过去的几周里, 我们的教职员工一直在访问我们的合作伙伴学校的虚拟教室,以方便活动和讨论. 在此期间听到这些四年级和五年级学生的声音绝对令人心碎. 他们很清楚他们周围的所有痛苦和暴力. 我们必须向他们展示世界可以是什么的另一种可能性,并赋予他们建设世界的能力!

我们一直在做这项工作 20 年, 我们将继续这样做,直到我们的社区和学校不再隔离和不公平. 我们不会停止为和平而努力, 正义和更美好的世界,我们所有的孩子, 我们希望你能留在我们身边.

黑色生活物质.

照片: 胡里奥 Marcial

https://medium.com/@TheMosaicProject/letter-to-our-community-june-2020-143dfd6b63f9

 

致我们社区的信

致我们社区的信

致我们社区的信

致我们社区的信

致我们社区的信

致我们社区的信

Letter to Our Community

Jul 8, 2020

Why learning about systemic racism is not enough

We are in a moment of reckoning. In addition to the pandemic, we are also experiencing a groundswell of pain, awareness, and activism around systemic racism due to the recent murders of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, and George Floyd. We affirm and will keep affirming, that Black Lives Matter.

It is within this context that we underscore both the urgency and the long-term importance of Mosaic’s work. To do so, we refer you to our Need Statement and the Pyramids of Violence and Peace that underlie all that we do. You will see that at the foundation of these self-perpetuating pyramids are segregation and connection. Segregation is at the root of systemic racism and violence, and connection is at the root of the solution.

It is important to educate ourselves about systemic racism AND it is not enough. When we do not actually know others from different backgrounds than ourselves, we are left to rely, whether consciously or unconsciously, on the stereotypes that surround us. These stereotypes enable us to dehumanize others and block our ability to empathize.

Just as no child should graduate from elementary school without learning to read and write, no child should graduate without friends from different backgrounds or without understanding how stereotyping works and how to truly see others. Only when we can connect, respect, and empathize across differences, can we move towards justice and peace.

We have witnessed countless students from homogeneous schools who can recite all the core social justice tenets — yet, when they arrive at our Outdoor Project and share a cabin with a diverse group of students for the first time, they struggle to put these lessons into practice. It is only after close interpersonal connections with other students and the patient guidance of our diverse staff that they are eventually able to embody the lessons.

The systems that separate us are powerful. If only it were as simple as, “Let’s just come together and be nice to each other.” If we are truly going to come together to make change, we must be extremely thoughtful and intentional. As research shows, in order to come together and overcome prejudice, we must work on common goals, address issues of discrimination head on, and learn skills for authentic interaction and assertive conflict resolution. We must dismantle the Pyramid of Violence and build the Pyramid of Peace.

It is not enough to read about and discuss peace and justice — we must live them. The Mosaic Project seeds society with thousands of students who have experienced building a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community and are inspired to create such communities throughout their lives.

Over the past several weeks, our teaching staff has been visiting our partner schools’ virtual classrooms to facilitate activities and discussions. Hearing from these 4th and 5th graders during this time is absolutely heartbreaking. They are well aware of all the pain and violence around them. It is essential that we show them another possibility of what the world can be and empower them to build it!

We have been doing this work for 20 years, and we will keep doing it until our neighborhoods and schools are no longer segregated and inequitable. We will not stop working toward peace, justice and a better world for all our children, and we hope you will stay by our side.

Black Lives Matter.

Photo: Julio Marcial

https://medium.com/@TheMosaicProject/letter-to-our-community-june-2020-143dfd6b63f9

 

Letter to Our Community

Letter to Our Community

Letter to Our Community

Letter to Our Community

Letter to Our Community

Letter to Our Community