六月 2020 更新

马赛克在这个时候的清算

自从我们写了下面的文章以来,地震发生了转变。, 在 COVID-19 期间的马赛克. 我们处于清算的时刻. 除了大流行, 我们是 也经历了疼痛的地面, 意识, 和围绕系统性种族主义的激进主义, 由于最近谋杀阿赫莫 · 阿伯里, 布雷翁娜·泰勒, 托尼·麦克达德, 和乔治·弗洛伊德. 我们申明并将不断申明, 黑色生活物质.

正是在这一背景下,我们强调了马赛克工作的紧迫性和长期重要性. 这样做, 我们推荐您到我们的 需要说明暴力金字塔 & 和平 这掩盖了我们所做的一切. 你会看到,在这些自我延续的金字塔的基础是隔离和连接. 隔离是系统性种族主义和暴力的根源, 和连接是解决方案的根源.

教育自己了解系统性种族主义很重要,这还不够. 当 我们实际上并不了解自己不同背景的其他人, 我们被抛在了依靠, 无论是有意还是无意识, 关于成见 包围着我们. 这些成见使我们能够使他人失去人性,并阻碍我们同情他人的能力.

正如没有学习读写的孩子应该从小学毕业一样, 没有不同背景的朋友, 或者没有理解成见是如何工作的, 以及如何真正看到别人, 任何孩子都应该毕业. 只有当我们可以连接, 尊重, 和同情差异, 我们能走向正义与和平吗?.

我们见证了无数来自同质学校的学生,他们可以背诵所有核心的社会正义原则——然而, 当他们到达我们的户外项目,并第一次与不同的学生组共享一个小屋, 他们努力将这些教训付诸实践. 只有在与其他学生建立密切的人际关系和我们多元化员工的耐心指导之后,他们才最终能够体现课程.

分隔我们的系统功能强大. 如果只是它像, "让我们走到一起,彼此友好。如果我们要真正团结起来, 我们必须非常周到和有意. 作为 研究 显示, 为了走到一起,克服偏见, 我们必须致力于共同目标, 解决歧视问题, 并学习真实互动和自信解决冲突的技能. 我们必须拆除暴力金字塔,建立和平金字塔.

仅仅阅读和讨论和平与正义是不够的 — 我们必须活在他们身上. 马赛克项目种子社会与成千上万的学生谁经历了建立一个多样化的, 公平, 和包容性社区,并受到启发,在其一生中创建这样的社区.

在过去的几周里, 我们的教职员工一直在访问我们的合作伙伴学校的虚拟教室,以方便活动和讨论. 听到这些 4th 和 5th 平地机在这段时间是绝对令人心碎的. 他们很清楚他们周围的所有痛苦和暴力. 我们必须向他们展示世界可以是什么的另一种可能性,并赋予他们建设世界的能力!

我们一直在做这项工作 20 年, 我们将继续这样做,直到我们的社区和学校不再隔离和不公平. 我们不会停止为和平而努力, 正义, 和我们所有的孩子一个更好的世界, 我们希望你能留在我们身边.

黑色生活物质.

四月 2020 更新

在 COVID-19 期间的马赛克

目前的大流行正在揭示和加剧分离, 恐惧, 歧视, 和群体之间的不平等. 同时, 它强调需要有意跨越差异连接, 同理心, 有效的沟通, 是的, 马赛克项目. 它清楚地说明了马赛克课程的中心课程之一 - 我们的感觉平静, 快乐, 健康与其他人息息相关,感觉和平, 快乐, 和健康, 因为我们都是相互关联的. 我们都从更公平的利益中获益, 只是, 和包容性的世界,马赛克项目工作建设.

我们心碎,没有运行我们的户外项目春季会议第一次在 19 岁月和心碎的世界. 当我们适应一个新的现实, 我们正在重组以满足COVID-19提出的即时需求,同时制定我们的长期战略.

我们专注于我们的最终目标: 创造我们自己的永久家园 在卡斯特罗谷最近获得的土地上. 这个家将使我们能够将服务的数量翻两番,并建立一个股票模型中心, 同理心, 有效的沟通和冲突解决. 我们目前正在与阿拉米达县进行广泛的许可程序. 同时, 我们的近期目标是:

  1. 在 COVID-19 大流行期间支持并创造性地与我们的社区建立联系.
  2. 在这些不确定的时期,照顾我们的员工.
  3. 加强组织的基础,使我们能够在自己的永久家园中茁壮成长到未来.

为了这些目的,我们:

  • 创建新的虚拟产品 为我们的年轻人, 家人, 及其教师提供联系,并教授重要技能,以应付情绪和解决COVID-19大流行期间出现的紧迫问题.
    • 我们最兴奋的是推出 MOTV (马赛克电视) YouTube 上的系列. 最近的一集是关于 自信, 互联性, 亚裔人士所面对的歧视 在目前的气候. 接下来的几集将集中讨论冲突解决. 我们希望你享受他们,因为我们有他们!
    • 我们从我们的搭档老师德克斯特·科尔曼收到以下第一集的答复:
      "孩子们和我真的很喜欢看MOTV! 我非常感激你与所有的努力,以保持与你们合作的学校的联系. 在这些困难时期,它就像一股新鲜空气. 在我们看了第一集后,我们认为给你和你的工作人员的这些信件会很好. 继续以你所做的乐趣传播和平与爱. 我们爱你们, 保持安全. 我们想要一些电视!!!!! :)”
    • 我们正在托管 虚拟篝火计划 每隔一个星期天. 我们的第一个是如此热情地收到,我们决定定期提供他们. 我们听到了反馈,如, "我一直期待这一周!"和"我想念我的马赛克家庭! 这振奋了我的精神,正是我需要的!”
    • 我们是 参观虚拟教室 我们的合作伙伴学校,以促进马赛克"游戏"和唱我们的歌曲.
    • 我们建立了 马赛克家长私人Facebook组 . 我们提供了一个 家长研讨会 通过缩放探索 冲突解决时"在家避难" 现在已经开始定期 马赛克父级开放论坛.
    • 我们继续举行我们的双月刊"法姆星期五"通过 Zoom 为 15-23 岁的青年领袖聚会,以及我们定期的青年委员会和儿童委员会会议.
    • 我们为成人和老年青年提供教育机会,如我们的六月 10th 与博士的研讨会. 迈克尔·巴兰, 马赛克顾问委员会成员和最近一本书的合著者, 微妙的排斥行为.
    • 我们正在创建一个 谷歌课程 教师可以在这里找到和分享社会情感学习课程的网站, 游戏, 虚拟和面对面设置的活动.
    • 我们已经开始主办我们的定期 妈妈 (音乐马赛克系列) 事件上 脸谱直播 . 下一个 妈妈 将在星期五晚上, 6月19日.
    • 我们正在努力 第二张音乐专辑. 我们为节目中涉及的每个主题编写原创歌曲. 我们至少有一张专辑的歌曲,我们一直想发布多年. 最后,我们将能够做到这一点. 我们计划写和录制一些新歌.
  • 重新运输我们已有 10 年历史的 Salesforce 系统 在一个的帮助下 着火 志愿者,现在有额外的时间,因为他在家里工作. 这是一个我们需要承担一段时间的项目. 我们终于有时间和帮助,我们需要完成它. 销售队伍真正影响着我们工作的方方面面. 新系统将大大提高我们的效率, 在面对当前金融挑战时尤为重要.
  • 振兴我们的社交媒体战略 在另一个的帮助下 着火 志愿者. 这也是一个我们需要承担一段时间的项目, 现在在这个社会疏远的时候, 它已成为必要的.
  • 强化我们的 搜索新来源 一般运作支持,以及资本运动,把我们的土地变成一个营地的资金. 我们失去了我们的项目费用收入,并期望我们的个人捐款减少,由于COVID-19大流行. 我们必须继续建立我们的支持者社区.

感谢您在此关键时刻的继续支持. 提高我们对相互依存的认识和对你们的深切感激, 我们发送我们最好的, 健康的愿望.

马赛克在这个时候的清算

马赛克在这个时候的清算

马赛克在这个时候的清算

马赛克在这个时候的清算

马赛克在这个时候的清算

马赛克在这个时候的清算

JUNE 2020 UPDATE

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning

There has been a seismic shift once again since we wrote the piece below, Mosaic During the Time of COVID-19. We are in a moment of reckoning. In addition to the pandemic, we are also experiencing a groundswell of pain, awareness, and activism around systemic racism due to the recent murders of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, and George Floyd.  We affirm and will keep affirming, that Black Lives Matter.

It is within this context that we underscore both the urgency and the long-term importance of Mosaic’s work.  To do so, we refer you to our Need Statement and the Pyramids of Violence & Peace that underlie all that we do. You will see that at the foundation of these self-perpetuating pyramids are segregation and connection. Segregation is at the root of systemic racism and violence, and connection is at the root of the solution.

It is important to educate ourselves about systemic racism AND it is not enough. When we do not actually know others from different backgrounds than ourselves, we are left to rely, whether consciously or unconsciously, on the stereotypes that surround us. These stereotypes enable us to dehumanize others and block our ability to empathize.

Just as no child should graduate from elementary school without learning to read and write, no child should graduate without friends from different backgrounds or without understanding how stereotyping works and how to truly see others.  Only when we can connect, respect, and empathize across differences, can we move towards justice and peace.

We have witnessed countless students from homogenous schools who can recite all the core social justice tenets – yet, when they arrive at our Outdoor Project and share a cabin with a diverse group of students for the first time, they struggle to put these lessons into practice. It is only after close interpersonal connections with other students and the patient guidance of our diverse staff that they are eventually able to embody the lessons.

The systems that separate us are powerful. If only it were as simple as, “Let’s just come together and be nice to each other.” If we are truly to unite, we must be extremely thoughtful and intentional. As research shows, in order to come together and overcome prejudice, we must work on common goals, address issues of discrimination head on, and learn skills for authentic interaction and assertive conflict resolution. We must dismantle the Pyramid of Violence and build the Pyramid of Peace.

It is not enough to read about and discuss peace and justice — we must live them.  The Mosaic Project seeds society with thousands of students who have experienced building a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community and are inspired to create such communities throughout their lives.

Over the past several weeks, our teaching staff has been visiting our partner schools’ virtual classrooms to facilitate activities and discussions. Hearing from these 4th and 5th graders during this time is absolutely heartbreaking. They are well aware of all the pain and violence around them. It is essential that we show them another possibility of what the world can be and empower them to build it!

We have been doing this work for 20 years, and we will keep doing it until our neighborhoods and schools are no longer segregated and inequitable. We will not stop working toward peace, justice, and a better world for all our children, and we hope you will stay by our side.

Black Lives Matter.

APRIL 2020 UPDATE

Mosaic During the Time of COVID-19

The current pandemic is revealing and heightening separation, fear, discrimination, and inequality between groups of people. At the same time, it is accentuating the need for intentional connection across differences, empathy, effective communication, and yes, The Mosaic Project. It is clearly illustrating one of the central lessons of Mosaic’s curriculum – that our feeling peaceful, happy, and healthy is tied to everyone else feeling peaceful, happy, and healthy, because we are all interconnected. We all benefit from the more equitable, just, and inclusive world that The Mosaic Project works to build.

We are heartbroken not to be running our Outdoor Project spring sessions for the first time in 19 years and heartbroken for the world. As we settle into a new reality, we are reorganizing to the meet immediate needs presented by COVID-19 while also developing our long-term strategy.

We are focusing on our ultimate goal of creating our own permanent home on recently acquired land in Castro Valley. This home will enable us to quadruple our numbers served and to establish a model center for equity, empathy, and effective communication and conflict resolution. We are currently in the midst of an extensive permitting process with Alameda County. Meanwhile, our immediate goals are to:

  1. Support and to connect creatively with our community during the COVID-19 pandemic.
  2. Take care of our staff throughout these uncertain times.
  3. Strengthen the foundation of the organization so that we will be able to thrive into the future on our own permanent home.

To these ends we are:

  • Creating new virtual offerings for our young people, their families, and their teachers to provide connection as well as to teach vital skills to cope emotionally and address urgent issues arising during the COVID-19 pandemic.
    • We are most excited to have launched the MOTV (Mosaic TV) series on YouTube. The most recent episodes are about assertivenessinterconnectedness,  and the discrimination faced by those of Asian descent in the current climate. The next few episodes will focus conflict resolution. We hope you enjoy them as much as we have making them!
    • We received the following response to the first episode from our partner teacher Dexter Coleman:
      “The kids and I have really enjoyed watching MOTV! I am very grateful for all of your efforts to stay connected with the schools you work with. It is like a breath of fresh air in these difficult times. After we watched the first episode we thought it would be nice to these letters to you and your staff. Keep spreading peace and love in the fun ways that you do. We love you all, stay safe. WE WANT SOME MOTV!!!!! :)”
    • We are hosting Virtual Campfire Programs every other Sunday. Our first one was so enthusiastically received that we decided to offer them regularly. We’ve heard feedback such as, “I’ve been looking forward to this all week!” and “I miss my Mosaic family! This lifted my spirits and was exactly what I needed!”
    • We are visiting the virtual classrooms of our partner schools to facilitate  Mosaic “gametivities” and sing our songs.
    • We established a Mosaic Parent private Facebook Group . We offered a Parent Workshop via Zoom to exploring Conflict Resolution When “Sheltered at Home” and have now begun a regular Mosaic Parent Open Forum.
    • We continue to hold our bimonthly “Fam Friday” gatherings for our 15-23-year-old Youth Leaders as well as our regular Youth Board and Children’s Board meetings via Zoom.
    • We are offering educational opportunities for adults and older youth such as our June 10th  Workshop with Dr. Michael Baran, Mosaic Advisory Board Member and Coauthor of the recent book, Subtle Acts of Exclusion.
    • We are creating a Google Class curriculum site for teachers where they can find and share social-emotional learning lessons, games, and activities for virtual as well as in-person settings.
    • We have begun hosting our regular MOMS (Mosaic of Music Series) event on Facebook Live . The next MOMS will be on Friday evening, June 19th.
    • We are working on our second music album. We write original songs for every topic addressed in our programs. We have at least an album’s worth of songs that we have wanted to release for years. At last we will be able to do so. We plan to write and record a few new songs as well.
  • Rehauling our 10-year-old Salesforce system with the help of a Catchafire volunteer who now has extra time as he works from home. This is a project we have needed to take on for a while. We finally have the time and the help we need to get it done. Salesforce literally impacts every aspect of our work. The new system will greatly increase our efficiency, which is especially important in the face of the current financial challenges.
  • Revitalizing our social media strategy with the help of another Catchafire volunteer. This is also a project we have needed to take on for a while, and now in this time of social distancing, it has become essential.
  • Intensifying our search for new sources of funding for both general operating support as well as for our Capital Campaign to transform our land into a camp. We have lost income from our program fees and expect our donations from individuals to decrease due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We must continue to build our community of supporters.

Thank you for your continued support at this critical time. With heightened awareness of our interdependence and deep gratitude for you, we send all our very best, healthy wishes.

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning

Mosaic At This Time Of Reckoning