利用人际关系进行社会变革

研讨会与 卡拉·默里-巴达尔, 马赛克董事会成员和校友, 和 博士. 迈克尔·巴兰, 马赛克顾问委员会成员和最近一本书的合著者, 微妙的排斥行为

微妙的排外行为书封面

我们处于清算的时刻. 有大流行正在揭示和加剧分离, 恐惧, 歧视, 和群体之间的不平等. 由于最近阿莫德 · 阿伯里被谋杀, 我们正经历着围绕这些问题的意识和激进主义。, 布雷翁娜·泰勒, 托尼·麦克达德, 和乔治·弗洛伊德. 答案是肯定的, 我们知道我们没有在一夜之间达到这个点. 历史上有无数的行为, 从淡到精, 从系统性暴力到微观侵略, 把我们带到这里. 我们的人际交往是由这一历史塑造的, 并有能力塑造我们的未来.

我们如何引导我们的人际互动,以促进一个更公正, 公平的世界? 如何解决微侵略问题 (或什么博士. 迈克尔·巴兰和他的合著者博士. 蒂芙尼·贾纳会打电话, "微妙的排斥行为") 当他们发生在我们身上,或者当我们目睹他们发生在别人身上? 当我们与那些有着不同经历的人互动时,试图认识到他们可能正在经历什么, 我们自己可能仍然犯"微妙的排除行为,"即使有最好的意图. 我们如何处理它,当我们做?

在此交互式虚拟会话中, 博士. 迈克尔·巴兰和卡拉·默里-巴达尔将首先解开这些微妙的互动,为什么它们继续发生. 然后,他们将提供一些指南,让人们如何能够更有效地改变者使用马赛克的 和平的三大关键 (听, 移情, 和自信) 到* (1) 主动保留空间,支持他人, 和 (2) 中断微妙的排除行为,当他们发生.

这是一个免费的活动, 然而 捐款 非常感谢.

我们期待一起学习和分享,希望建立一个安全的, 更只是世界不仅为自己, 但对于我们的孩子. 谢谢!

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change

Workshop with Kara Murray-Badal, Mosaic Board Member and Alumna, and Dr. Michael Baran, Mosaic Advisory Board Member and Co-author of the Recent Book, Subtle Acts of Exclusion

Subtle Acts of Exclusion book cover

We are in a moment of reckoning. There is the pandemic which is revealing and heightening separation, fear, discrimination, and inequality between groups of people. We are also experiencing a groundswell of awareness and activism around these issues due to the recent murders of Ahmaud Arbery, Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, and George Floyd. Of course, we know we did not get to this point overnight. There have been countless acts throughout history, from overt to subtle, from systemic violence to micro-aggressions, that have brought us here. Our interpersonal interactions have been shaped by this history, and have the power to shape our future.

How do we navigate our interpersonal interactions to contribute to a more just, equitable world? How do we address micro-aggressions (or what Dr. Michael Baran and his coauthor Dr. Tiffany Jana would call, “subtle acts of exclusion”) when they happen to us or when we witness them happening to others? As we interact with those who have different experiences from our own and try to recognize what they may be going through, we ourselves may still commit “subtle acts of exclusion,” even with the best of intentions. How do we handle it when we do?

In this interactive virtual session, Dr. Michael Baran and Kara Murray-Badal will first unpack these subtle interactions and why they continue to happen. They will then provide some guidelines for how people can be more effective changemakers by using Mosaic’s Three Keys to Peace (Listening, Empathy, and Assertiveness) to— (1) proactively hold space and support others, and (2) interrupt subtle acts of exclusion when they happen.

This was a free event, however donations are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to learning and sharing together in hopes of building a safe, more just world not only for ourselves, but for our children. Thank you!

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change

Leveraging The Interpersonal For Social Change